Pages

Wednesday, June 24, 2020

The Survivor by Cristin Harber

49528360. sy475
Whew, I need a moment to catch my breath after this story!

A roller coaster ride of bountiful laughter, intriguing puzzles, and breath-twisting moments weave seamlessly together to deliver a powerful story.

Cristin Harber worked her wordsmith magic again by building a world and lulling her readers into a false sense of comfortable and then just BOOM blowing it all up and piecing it back together better than imagined - repeatedly.

Both Hagan and Amanda had histories that brought me to tears multiple times. I loved how they met and the games they played getting to know the other, even as much as their games were real and honest. I connected to Amanda with some of her fears and struggles, and admired her mix of quiet and loud strength, and battered but brave heart. Her smarts and (good) attitude shined off the page. I adored Hagan's sense of protectiveness and respect, his fierce love for his family and those in his life and his determination to dig in and get deep. I enjoyed falling in love with both of them as they fell for each other and exposed more of themselves.

Then, there's Boss Man. I think he put forth a good effort to steal the show at moments, but they were always perfect timing. The camaraderie shown within the team and Jared's own brand of tough-*ss tlc still gets to me every time. Love it!

The Survivor rocked my world, packing a powerful emotional punch, and gave me more than just a enjoyable escape. Definitely a terrific addition to the ACES series and the TITAN world in general. Reading each new story in the Titan world feels like a warm welcome home that I never want to leave.

Saturday, May 23, 2020

Letters to Ellie by Loreth Anne White

Letters to Ellie Heart wrenchingly beautiful. Kinda don't have words for the depth and the feels and the beauty contained in just a few short words. I loved it just the way it is, and also kinda would love to have a little longer of a story for them, flesh out more of their lives now that Max is back. But I can use my imagination and give them lots of goodness. 

Read in the SEAL of my Dreams anthology        


SEAL of My Dreams anthology

SEAL of My Dreams I love military stories, especially SEALS. I definitely was gonna pick up an anthology that went to help our military folks.

I love how these stories not only highlighted the super-hero aspect, giving honor and respect where it's due, but it also impressed their vulnerabilities, their mortal-ness, and how much they also need grace and tlc. Our military personnel and their families deserve our appreciation and support, however that comes.

Letters to Ellie by Loreth Ann White
Heart wrenchingly beautiful. Kinda don't have words for the depth and the feels and the beauty contained in just a few short words. I loved it just the way it is, and also kinda would love to have a little longer of a story for them.

Panama Jack by Tara Jansen
Fun and quick, but lots of action and hot vibes. I liked the tie into Steele Street (a series I've had on my tbr list for forever!!)

Sealed with a Kiss by Cindy Gerard
Love the honeymoon story with a bit of heart racing anxiety.

There's a few more stories I may circle back to at some point.

Securing Avery by Susan Stoker

Securing Avery Quite the adventure

Loved it!! The book felt split into two parts, the rescue adventure and the home adventure/fall out part. And I loved each for separate reasons. Avery and Rex's connection and relationship was amazing to experience.

I also enjoyed getting to know Phantom a bit more and see more developed with his story.

And I loved seeing whsrs become my mantra/theme expressed in this story:
There’s just something about the sun rising in the morning sky that makes me think of new beginnings and hope.

If you love action adventure /Light suspense stories filled with alot of heart, this is a great story to pick up. Either as a stand alone (I haven't read the entire series, and I followed along perfectly fine) or as part of the series.

Friday, May 22, 2020

SEALed With a Kiss by Cindy Gerard

SEALed With a Kiss

Read in the SEAL OF MY DREAMS anthology.

This is a sweet little glimpse to a tropical honeymoon. Even though I didn't know the characters (as this is my first CG book) I still could feel the love and connection between Luke and Val, and heart pounding anxiety as things quickly go wrong.



Way of the Warrior anthology

Way of the WarriorApril 2020
Hot as Hell by Julie Ann Walker Deep 6 0.5
Good things come in little packages. Loved this first little intro story to the series. We got a taste of shoot-em-up action with a yummy burn-the-building-down scene, and all the hea goodness and feels you'd need to connect to the characters. I'm looking forward to the next books.

May 2020
In Plain Sight by Catherine Mann (Elite Force 4.5)
Loved it! A special twist on the hero, and I simply adored how the 2nd chance came about. Just enough mix of emotion, heat, and suspense.

Saturday, May 16, 2020

Walker by Maryann Jordan

Walker
I loved Walker and Julie's story! The perfect amount of adventure, steam, and story all wrapped up together seamlessly. I felt immersed in the Mexican jungle and ruins - almost like I had gone on vacation there myself and missed it when we left. I adored Walker and Julie's relationship - a realistic instant attraction turned love and a mature outlook on things (no excessive relationship drama, most came from outside sources, which I appreciate and enjoy more often than not).

This was my first book by Maryann Jordan and I'm looking forward to reading more stories in the LSI world. 


Adrift by Anna Lowe

Adrift I don't know why I took my precious sweet time to read this series after falling in love with the first one, but I'm SO GLAD I dove back in and finished it!

There's so much I loved about this story - the depth of emotions, the amazing spark of connection, the heat that boiled off the page (I mean, it's the Caribbean, yeah?), the sweetness, the protectiveness, the cute. I was so immersed into the story, I felt like I was on the sailboat, running from bad men, hearing the waves, feeling the wind, living in the moment surrounded by island live. I also loved the encouragement and little nuggets of truth that hit me deep - I super connected with Meredith and needed to hear and believe some of the same things.

This whole series is a top winner for me! Definitely some fun summer-time-deck-soaking-up-the-sunshine reading!


Life can be beautiful, sweetheart. Make sure you let that joy in.

She blinked, then locked those sea-blue eyes on his and hung on. Hung on like he was all she needed to escape this mess.

“Don’t overthink this,” he murmured as he swept her into a hug. A nice, tight, You’ll be safe with me hug that made her mind go blissfully blank.


Tuesday, May 12, 2020

Windswept by Anna Lowe

Windswept Heck yeah this was a spectacular, blood pumping, heart-catching adventure ride - and exactly the kind of story I crave!

Mixing a good dose of suspense/action with all the emotional feels and the perfect amount of heat, you immediately dive under with Mia and Ryan's relationship and can't stop turning the pages to figure out what happens next, and what was in their history.

And can I just say, if I ever get the opportunity to go on a Caribbean vacation, I so want Ryan to be there with me. Ya know... just in case. And for all the other good stuff. Including yoga poses. ;)

Mia's one of the best kind of heroines out there - strong but sweet and all woman. Ryan is also one of the best kind of heroes out there - protective, determined, and knows how to man-up and apologize. Mia isn't a slacker with recognizing when to forgive and move on either.

While I adore this whole series, I think Mia and Ryan just edge out as favorites... but once I reread the others I might have to change my mind to it being whoever I'm with at the time!


Monday, May 11, 2020

Claiming Her SEAL by Kat Cantrell

Claiming Her SEAL

Sultry hot!

I was transported to the Caribbean, feeling the ocean lapping at my feet and hearing the rhythmic crashes and tasting the salty air.

I also experienced the depths of both Dex and Emma's hurts and mental prisons and rejoyced as they finally found their ways to break free.

They were both special, and I adored the way they both took care of the other.

I had this sitting on my Kindle for almost 2 years now, and I'm so glad it caught my eye! I wanna go back on vacation with Emma and fall for Dex all over again.

Protecting Sam by Abbie Zanders

Protecting Sam


Adventure and sweetness

I really enjoyed Sam and Steve's story. Everything from the mystery and mission to the falling in love part just kept my attention. I wanted a story that was a good mix of easy going and sweet with a good suspense theme and this worked well.

Saturday, May 9, 2020

Hot SEAL, Salty Dog by Elle James

Hot SEAL, Salty Dog: A Brotherhood Protectors Crossover Novel
Fun and adventurous

This was just what I was wanting, a kinda lighthearted, fun, and easy romantic suspense. Give me a little adventure with some easy going vibes.

I love a man who's protective and goes all out for his woman, which Chase does here with a passion. And I adored Maggie's grit and her own protective nature. I swooned watching them rediscover their first night together.

Such a fun and unique set up, and just enough adventure/suspense to keep the story moving.


Friday, May 8, 2020

Her Treasured SEAL by Caitlyn O'Leary

Her Treasured SEAL
Her Treasured SEAL has it all! Everything from manly heart-to-hearts (Drake style lol) to intimate come-to-Jesus meetings, from action adventures to happy-sweet wedding moments. I laughed and cried, my heart raced, ached, and melted.

I loved that we got another story for Drake and Karen (and really the whole crew, getting to see them and touch base again). Their strength independently and together and the love they have for one another flow off the pages. Sometimes we all need wake-up calls and lots of grace and patience to adjust and settle, which they had in spades. The way Drake cared and loved Karen and their baby, and the way Karen dished that love right back was beautiful and deep and precious. The bonds nurtured with others (siblings, team mates, family) continued to melt me with the devotion and unconditional love given.

As much as I loved this story, I so didn't want it to end, because that meant the end of the Midnight Delta series. However, if there's one thing that Caityln O'leary is good at, it's crossing over characters into new stories, so it's not really goodbye forever.

Her Treasured Seal feels like the fairy dust coating on top of a delightful swirl of whipped-cream icing over a decadent cupcake - a perfect way to wrap up an amazing story. *tosses up all the stars*


Monday, May 4, 2020

Her Relentless SEAL by Caitlyn O'Leary

Her Relentless SEAL
Her relentless SEAL is right -- Aiden knew he wanted and needed Evie, but he needed her to be safe more. And once he figured out she was safe from his past, nothing was going to stop him from claiming his woman - not her family, her history, herself, or even the new threat against the Averys.

I loved how mature, honest, determined (aka relentless), and protective Aiden was - he was exactly what Evie needed - someone to take care of her and stand by her side. Evie was just the right mix of strength and vulnerable, tough and sweet. Her heart was huge and made of golden light and she poured herself out to love on others - but she needed someone to help balance that and protect her so she could keep doing what was her nature to do.

I adored getting to see their side of the story that we got glimpses of in the previous book with Drake and Karen - and getting to live out Evie's rescue and how they connected and solidified their relationship.

It's also always a joy to catch up with various other members of the SEAL teams, and their women, and be on missions and see the home-time moments.

Yet another awesome story in the Midnight Delta series - a favorite I look forward to revisiting again!

Sunday, May 3, 2020

Texas Rose by Tracy Garrett

Texas Rose
What else besides sparks and explosions could happen when you mix a hard-headed bossy cowboy with a protective streak with a strong-willed independent Spanish beauty.

I loved the instant attraction between Jaret and Isabel - it knocked both of them for a loop and it was fun watching them dance around each other. While I did wanna shake both of their stubborn hides a time or two for being more like Lucifer (the horse) than adults, it provided some sweet moments within the chaos.

Jaret's sense of honor and responsibility kept him close to Isabel, even though he fought through feelings of impostor/inadequacies. Although in my opinion, he was definitely worthy of the home and love that was just waiting for him to grab hold of. I was so happy when he finally got his head sorted out!

Isabel sure had a strong stubborn will and gumption, which served her well most of the time. There were a few times she had lessons to learn on when to give in and let go. But I did love it when she had an opportunity to hold an intense grudge, and she didn't - that was a beautiful gift she gave herself (and Jaret).

The mystery kept me guessing and the drama kept on rollin' up to the very end. If you're looking for a historical romance where the sparks ignite a passion and you're swept into the adventure, this is a story to escape into.


The Outlaw's Daughter by Margaret Brownley

The Outlaw's Daughter
Matt and Ellie-May's story is sweet and cute, with all the adorableness of kids wrapped up pretty.

I loved the themes of forgiveness (when are you going to stop punishing yourself for something out of your control) and trust. I felt Ellie-May's struggle to protect her children and give them safety and security, and totally loved her going all mama-bear over her cubs. With her history, she needed someone gentle but protective and strong in her life, and that's what she finally found in Matt. I adored how patient and soft-hearted Matt was with everyone around him, but especially with Ellie-May's children. He also was a man of honor and gave Ellie-May the kindness and space she needed.

If you're looking for a story that's gentle and sweet with adorable 2ndary characters and just a hint of suspense, this would be a great book to pick up.


Wednesday, April 29, 2020

Longing for a Cowboy Christmas anthology

Longing for a Cowboy Christmas
April 2020, reread of Christmas in Paradise by Rosanne Bittner - revisited Paradise Valley in preparation for Rosanne Bittner's newest book coming soon that will have Sage Lightfoot appearing in it.

And I still gotta say, Sage and Maggie's story is still a favorite one.
~~~~~~~

This is a wonderful collection of Christmas short stories - each one giving a couple hour dose of a feel-good story to snuggle up with. I totally read this book out of order, going first with the stories I was looking forward to the most and working my way through the rest, and not being disappointed in any of them!

Christmas in Paradise by Rosanne Bittner
I was so thrilled when I found out we were getting more of Sage and Maggie from Paradise Valley (one of my favorite RB books)! I had faith going in I'd love the follow up to their story, and I wasn't disappointed. Sage is still all protective of Maggie, and patient with her as she's settling into her spot as his wife. He knows he's got a treasure in her and makes sure she knows it deep down. Maggie is still as sweet, determined, and strong, as much as she's vulnerable and struggles with some insecurities. But Sage won't let those fears keep their grip on her. Loved the touch of adventure and drama, and the beauty of their Christmas miracle, both in seeing them settled, and in seeing their happily-ever-after come full circle. Honestly, this just made me want even more of their story, and I'd love to see a sequel novel someday for Sage and Maggie and their family.

A Christmas Wedding by Linda Broday

Christmas in Hope's Crossing, pouring out good on people who deserve all the good they can get! Loved getting to know Rebel even more, watching her big heart dig deep to find joy and spread it around. And then Travis finally getting the new start he needed and finding his way home again to wrap his family up in his protective arms and shower them with love. Add in some breath-catching moments and some giggles along with a few tears, and you get a sweet addition to Linda Broday's Outlaw Mail Order Brides series. So glad that there's more coming for this town and hopefully we'll get to see more of Rebel and Travis in future stories.

Through the Storm by Amy Sandas
Through the Storm starts off with a sweet, slow burn that builds to an inferno, keeping you needing more. George is fully captivated by Lucy when he first meets her, and fate helps to bring her back to him. George is an interesting character with his charm and gentleman ways mixed in with outlaw edginess. Lucy is an adorable mix of sweet and capable, the best match for George! Loved watching the embers of their attraction grow into a steady burning flame. This story probably surprised me the most in how much I ended up enjoying it!

A Fairy Tale Christmas by Leigh Greenwood
This is a super sweet story of a man and a woman who both desperately need something the other can provide, but fears and plans and a touch of stubbornness get in the way. Nan desires a family with everything she has, but isn't willing to settle for less than what she deserves or wants. But she does know how to open her heart and grasp to what she is given. Will has a mapped out plan for his life, even if he's struggling with some of the consequences and hanging onto the past. Luckily, a winter storm, the love of a child, and some words of wisdom combine to grant dreams and love to three people who deserve their family and own special happily ever after.

A Love Letter to Santa by Margaret Brownley
Holly and Tom's story melted my heart with all the joy and goodness that Christmas can bring. Holly brought a smile and cheer to a town that was hurting, and wiggled her way into the heart of a man who was lost. Loved her heart and charm. Tom proved to be a man worthy of his Holly, and had a heart of gold as well. This story left me with a few tears but a heart overflowing with good. Definitely a Christmas story to experience! Also, despite being a short novella story, I felt like I got all the feels for a full length novel!

One Snowy Christmas Eve by Anna Schmidt
Evie and Collin's story is one of second chances, letting go of pride, and chasing down your hearts' desires. A little bit of fate stepped in to give them the opportunity needed to reflect on the past, where they're at now, and grasp hold of what they still want now. Toss in a little meddling and a leap of faith and you have a delightful Christmas blessing story! I loved how we got flash backs of their history, giving us a deeper sense of their connection and showing what was worth fighting for.

This is a collection of Christmas shorts not to be missed!!

View all my reviews

Her Honorable Hero by Caitlyn O'Leary

Her Honorable Hero
Talk about an adventure times two! Her Honorable Hero packed a heavy punch.

I adored getting to see Griff and Miranda married and with a baby, and living life. And finally ready to face their past together. I loved getting to experience how they met and how they survived the train wreck. Talk about intense and crazy scary. The way their "how I met you and feel in love" story was told was pretty cool mixing in present day interactions with looking back in time memories.

And then, once we process all that, there's a new threat looming that makes you hurt and ache and feel all anxious living and breathing it all out along side them.

I adore how Griff treated Miranda and showed his love and devotion to her, through darkness and light. I loved his heart and the depths of emotions he had for his family. I loved Miranda's strength and passion and intensity. She knew herself and knew she could take care of herself, but learned that it was okay to depend on and lean more on her husband.

The trouble they faced at the end totally left me on edge and I couldn't stop till I reached the end.

Yet again, I find myself enthralled in an amazing story and placed it on my favorites shelf next to many other Black Dawn books. If you love depth and excitement and bonds of friendship and family mixed in with your military romantic suspense, this book–no, this whole series–is one to escape into.


Tuesday, April 28, 2020

Her Guarded Hero by Caitlyn O'Leary

Her Guarded Hero
I adored every single minute of this story and was rather heartbroken to see it come to an end!

Dalton's history wrecked my heart, but it also formed him into the protective, loving, heart-stealing man he became. Even if I didn't agree with some of his convictions about himself, he got his head sorted out quickly. And I fell for him just as quickly and as hard as Aurora did - maybe faster as I didn't have an actual fall preceding my downfall. lol

I adored everything about Aurora - she had wisdom and the best kind of sass all wrapped around a heart of gold. She had the perfect kind of soft-strength to face down the demons Dalton carried and defeat them along side of him.

I loved being out at her family's ranch and getting to meet Gunnar and spend time with the horses (and now I even more so want to find a nearby horse ranch!). I also enjoyed seeing the brotherhood still as strong and devoted as ever - and experience Aurora's trio of best-friend-sisters. Friendship bonds like that are a treasure.

This book touches beautifully on a couple of sensitive topics (grief being a big one) and gives you all the feels to truly experience and understand where they're coming from.

As a stand alone, this is an amazing story, and as part of the Black Dawn world, it's a keeper. Before I was done reading, I knew this book was destined for my all time favorites shelf.


Sunday, April 26, 2020

Review: One Winter Knight anthology

One Winter Knight

April 2020
Sir Thomas and the Snow Troll by Lindsay Townsend
I just recently finished reading the 2nd book in the Knight and the Witch series by Lindsay Townsend and had fallen in love with Magnus and his Elfrida. When I mentioned my infatuation with the author and desire for more of their stories, I was delighted to discover that there was another story in the One Winter Knight anthology about Sir Thomas, Magnus' son. So I quickly found myself in the gorgeous heat of a spring day reading a winter story. TOTALLY worth it!

Shortly after his father dies, Thomas' mother confesses the truth of his paternity, and in a mix of rage and confusion, Thomas sets off to meet his biological father. Along the way, he runs into Ruth - almost literally - and discovers something even stronger to settle his tumultuous head and heart.

I adored Ruth's strength and attitude, and her willingness to grasp a hold of the goodness she found. I loved Thomas's logic and drive - his sense of honor and ability to quickly claim what he needs and wants out of his life - in all aspects of family.

I loved the concept of soul-father vs biological father and how Magnus welcomed his "prodigal son or not" home. Getting a little more time with Magnus and Elfrida and their gorgeous bond just made this little story all the more perfect for me. Still gotta say.... haha.... I want more!

Dec 2019
Arrow to the Heart by Deborah Macgillivray
I'm really enjoying these little tie-ins to the Dragons of Challon world. This time we two hurting people, both desperate to belong, both desperate to feel security. Fletcher struggled to accept the truth of his place in Coinnler Wood, mostly due to being stuck in his own head, and then fighting off one of his biggest desires: the Lady Geljon. Geljon knew she was safe and desperately sought after that comfort with Fletcher no matter how much he tried to erect barriers between them. She had her own bit of stubbornness and struggled with what was expected of her vs what her heart desired. Loved how it all played out with surprises and twists to give them their hearts' desire.


Dec 2017
My Forever Love by Cheryl Pierson
Logan and Noelle's story warmed me up on a cold winter's night! They were selected for each other in an arranged marriage that both initially faught against. But then after meeting, Logan fell in love with her, while Noelle wasn't aware of everything going on around her. Sweetness and excitement carry through to their happily ever after.

Nov 2018
To Play with Cats by Patti Sherry-Crews
Giggle and swoons!! I was needing something different to knock me out of a book funk and PSC's To Play with Cats story did the trick perfectly!

First, we have a sweet and adorable heroine who reminds me alot of me... Especially in her mobility skills. Lol

Then we have the big, strong, manly hero who needed some time to get his head straightened out (what good hero doesn't have some flaw... Lol), but who still could make me swoon.

Wrap them up snug in a castle with a little bit of drama and excitement and you have a sweet Christmas happily-ever-after for a knight and his lady love.




Banking on Temperance by Becky Lower

Banking on Temperance
Basil and Temperance have one of the most stubborn-filled claim-your-person-already stories I've read in a long time! So much so, there for a minute I was almost ready to start rootin' for the other man in Temperance's life. hahaha!

While stubbornness and determination can serve you well, such blind devotion can definitely cause heartache - which, of course since this is a romance story, we know the heartache will be overcome... eventually.

I adored Temperance's devotion to her family and how she remained true to herself. Watching her fall in love with Basil and work through those emotions was a sight to see.... even if I wanted to shake her sometimes. I appreciated how even though most of these feelings were new to her, she owned up pretty quickly that Basil was hers, even if she didn't know what to do with that knowledge. As the eldest child, Temperance was a strong leader in her family, however she had some growing up to do and lessons to learn.

Same for Basil - that man had some heart-wounds in his past to process, but then despite being a successful business owner and a leader in the community, he also had alot of growing up to do and needed his own wake up call (or two... or three.... or....). He needed someone like Temperance in his life who would make him work for and earn the good stuff, not just keep coasting on surface level deepness and having things handed to him without much effort. Some of the road-blocks for him, while I could understand it, it also hurt me to feel that pain for Temperance.

I loved the small side story we got with Temperance's mom (actually, I'd really like to read a book from her pov from when they first set out from PA and then what happened in St. Louis during this story) and getting to know Ginger (Basil's sister) and Joseph (from an earlier book in this series). Ginger was a hoot and I had to agree with her opinion of her brother on several occasions! lol

If you enjoy a slow burn with lots of heated attraction kinda story, this is a good one to pick up.


A Summer Bewitchment by Lindsay Townsend

A Summer Bewitchment
I utterly adore that we got another The Knight and the Witch story! Mangus and his Elfrida are some of my favorite characters in this time frame, and I'm pretty sure I love them more now than I did with their first book (and I really adored that one!).

One of my favorite tropes that seems to be a rare find for me (and well done), is when our hero and heroine are already married and for the most part, secure and solid. Sure, there'll be bumps and tumbles along the way, but when they're already bound to each other, the emotions and (healthy!) possessiveness (you're mine!) seems deeper, stronger, infinate. So getting to be with Mangus and Elfrida after they've been married a year-ish and seeing their bond, and how they face their struggles together was a delight.

The affection and desire between Mangus and Elfrida is still intensely burning bright, which is what helps to carry them through their next adventure saving seven girls. So not only are they united on a mission, but as a consequence from that same mission (and other things), some insecurities rise to grip each of them tightly, adding another layer to the story. I appreciated that we got to spend time in both their heads, hearing their thoughts, because even though they struggled with fully understanding and communicating their worries to each other, I as the reader knew exactly what those worries were and how each felt and responded and that made me empathize and ache with them all the more, and also rejoice when revelations broke free.

There was also quite the adventure in rescuing the girls, gifting readers with some unexpected surprises, interesting twists, and definitely several moments of nail-biting anxiety - oh and some eye rolls to with certain characters. haha!

I love how even though it's addressed and we know Mangus has his physical scars/wounds and Elfrida has her magic, we view one through the other's eyes so much that we forget all about that and just see them through love filled eyes. Definitely a testament to it's what's inside that shines brightly to make the entire package a breathtakingly beautiful package. They genuinely love each other and fulfill a need in the other so perfectly, that even when they are at odds, they still are together (and that's another kudos to the author!).

So that's alot of words to say, this is an amazing follow-up story to The Snow Bride, complete with all the heat and adventure and beauty you'd expect. And I really do hope that we get more of their story soon!


Saturday, April 25, 2020

Night with a SEAL by Cat Johnson

Night with a SEAL
I had just finished listening to Romanced by a SEAL and figured out that that story was actually a conclusion to characters who got their start earlier in the series - and surprise surprise! I had their beginning, Night with a SEAL on my kindle already!

I enjoyed being able to go back and experience their connection spark to live and their NYE kiss, as well as seeing how G.A.P.S came to be. I think this story was made better for me just because I had already read the other book first.


Romanced by a SEAL by Cat Johnson

Romanced by a SEAL
Romanced by a SEAL is an emotionally charged story that makes you feel and takes you away to places that catch your breath.

I'm coming into the middle of the series, having only read book 2 about a year ago. I enjoyed landing in the middle of Jon and Ali's relationship and sorting out the feelings of "where do we go from here" with them.

I had to take a pause somewhere in the middle because I was connected so much to the characters and their emotions I was afraid of what was going to happen... and as much as I wanted to hurry through, I forced myself to live through the unknowns and worries and it made the story all that better for me.

I loved being in both Jon and Ali's heads, knowing what the other was thinking/experiencing and seeing them make their way to their hea. The twists and surprises along the way made the journey all the more worth it. I also liked the strong brotherhood and sisterhood shown - those kind of friendships are priceless!

I listened to this in audio and the narrator did a terrific job acting out the parts and keeping my attention.

Sunday, April 19, 2020

Her Dominant SEAL by Caitlyn O'Leary

Her Dominant SEAL
I stinkin' LOVED this story! Drake, the overly bossy and overly protective man met his match in the sweet and sassy Karen. And they are absolute perfection for each other!

I loved getting to go back to Tennessee and dive into Drake's history, as much as it was a heartbreaking mess. But there was an equal amount of absolute beauty with the devotion and love shown between Drake and his six sisters. I think once you truly know more of Drake's past, you understand better and even crave more of his overbearing protectiveness and feel the safety that it provides. I adored how he simply connected with Karen and knew she was his from the first moment he laid eyes on her, and treated her that way from that point forward.

Karen's a kindergarden teacher with the perfect amount of sugar and spice that Drake needs in his life. Sweet and innocent but yet strong and capable, she needs Drake's kind of presence in her life and can give him the redemption and security he needs in return. I loved how strong and easy they were together.

Drake's sisters were a handful and I adored each of them - and I'm hoping that someday we get more of their stories! They deserve it after the way they grew up! But the overwhelming thing that sticks out for me is the intense bond they all had despite the distance and maybe even because of the family secrets. This makes me wish for an older brother... although I think I'm good with the sister I have! lol Not sure we need 4 more of us.

The bond of the friendship between Mason and Drake continues to stand out as a godsend for both of them. Throw in the other guys on the team and the brotherhood - having each other's backs and accepting who they are - still stays strong. And they still crack me up with their jokes.

I'm looking foward to Evie and Aiden's story next... talk about some sparks!

I love that I have yet another CO'L book to add to my favorites shelf - definitely not one to miss out on! And while this can be read as a stand alone, I gotta admit, reading the series through in order has made this world come alive around me, and that's a treasure.


Her Fierce SEAL by Caitlyn O'Leary

Her Fierce SEAL
Whoa! Every book in the Midnight Delta series just keeps getting better and deeper, wrapping me up tighter into their world. Yet again, I feel like I have another favorite story!

My heart shattered for Finn and the struggles he had to process and accept his actions and the results of their last mission. Experiencing his pain and flashbacks just drove the point home how finite the line is for some protectors and the situations they find themselves in to reconsile the good with the bad. I adored his compassion and his protective instincts, and how he fought through his struggles to be the man Angie needed at her side. I loved how he was determined not to let his PTSD rule his life, and to do what he needed to to work through things and start his journey to healing. I loved watching his brothers-in-arms surround him with the kind of care and attention he needed - they have such an amazing bond.

Angie is a delight with her attitude (hahah, pulling a gun on Finn the first time they meet!! I'm still cracking up over that!), her heart, and her strength. She has a soft core that needs care, but she's also put together enough that she's able to dig deep and be the partner and support Finn needs in his life at this moment. I can't wait to see how these two finish sorting some things out as the series progresses.

I also loved getting to see/meet Declan! I've already read his story, but I can see how Declan's book is connected to this and I loved this little peak at his pre-story. Even though I recently reread Declan's book, now I'm wanting to visit it all over again!

If you love getting a bite of reality along with a treasured HEA in a military romance story, you want not only this book, but the entire Midnight Delta series (and the accomopaning spin-off series/stories). Caitlyn O'Leary is right up there as my favorite military romance author along with Cristin Harber, Natasza Waters, and Kaylea Cross. I adore this world she's given us and I cannot wait to see what's next!

Saturday, April 18, 2020

A SEAL's Vigilant Heart by Caitlyn O'Leary

A SEAL's Vigilant Heart

I adored getting to spend some more time with Mason and Sophia!!

So much was packed into this novella - missions, family time, wedding excitement - and nothing felt jipped. Mason and Sophia still are one of my favorite CO'L couples and getting to see their love and devotion to each other still growing and surviving whatever hurdles they faced.

I giggled like crazy with Drake being the ladies' chauffeur and protector at the bachelorette party, and loved the guys having Mason's back at his. And I still can connect so well with Sophia's unique mix of fragile strength.



Her Daring SEAL by Caitlyn O'Leary


Her Daring SEAL
 

Intense, heartbreaking, and oh so gratifying, Dare and Rylie's story dishes out all the emotions.

I love Rylie's heart and drive, as much as what made her be that way is crushing. I love her strength mixed with vulnerability, her conviction mixed with compassion, and the way she pours her all into something, even though sometimes, she drains herself too dry. But that's where Dare comes in.

Dare embodied humanity, gentleness, prowess, and determination. Everything that made up him and drove him was perfectly developed to be exactly who and what Rylie needed in her life. He protected her and gave her the encouragement and freedom to be everything she needed to be. Loved watching his pursuit of Rylie, and refusing to give up, no matter the road blocks she threw at him.

This story develed into the world of human trafficing, which is soul crushing - and PTL for the folks who risk it all to swoop in and rescue the victims, and then the others who step in to help them heal from the horrific wounds, inside and out.

If you're looking for a story that gives more than a beautiful hea, but also makes you raw and consider (and hopefully moved to help in some fashion) some of the horrific realities in this world today.... this is a book to pick up.

Wednesday, April 15, 2020

Hot as Hell by Julie Ann Walker

Hot as Hell
Quick and hot

Good things come in little packages. Loved this first little intro story to the series. We got a taste of shoot-em-up action with a yummy burn-the-building-down scene, and all the hea goodness and feels you'd need to connect to the characters. I'm looking forward to the next books.

Sunday, April 12, 2020

Billionaire for Hire by Cat Johnson

Billionaire for Hire
hilarious rom-com spy-games story

I'm listening to the audio (the narrator alone does an excellent job acting out the story and I'm lovin' it!) and only at chapter 6, but I'm hooked into the story already - giggling, intrigued, Zane!, being in Brent's head, the anticipation of what's coming next - and I can't wait to see where we go next!

****
I grabbed this audio book because the blurb and these two comments captured my attention:
"A fun and often humorous spy novel. Scratch that. It’s a romance with tongue-in-cheek spy elements...hilarious." Madison
"a James Bondy Rom-Com... I would LOVE to see this on TV one day!" BJ's Book Blog


I was wanting something a bit more light-hearted rom-com than what I usually go for, and this seemed to fit the bill. And it totally delivered!

And now that I finished.... I giggled through so much of the story that that fact alone made this a great read (listen). Getting to see a spec ops mission from a non-spec ops point of view was hilarious! There were some sweet moments mixed in with some rollercoaster emotion rides (I mean, being a billionaire dude doesn't leave you exempt from a bit of heartbreak and worries, ya know), and charm with a whole lot of laughs - whether intentional or not.

This is a great story! So glad I found it and got a day full of giggles listening to it (along with a clean house! lol)

Found in the Lost by Tarina Deaton

Found in the Lost I inhaled this story! Then had to go back and start all over and get all the goodness again. Loved Shane and Kinley's meeting and how things just connected and fit together between them. The sparks burned off the pages, and their adventure and the way they supported and cared for the other quickly became a adventure I didn't want to have end! This has the feel of one of those awesome summertime adventure escapes we crave every year. So much was jammed packed in a few pages and I didn't feel anything was left lacking.

Shielding Gillian by Susan Stoker

Shielding Gillian
Shielding Gillian became one of my favorite Susan Stoker stories.

I loved the maturity and grace and class Gillian embodied. Along with confidence, caring, gentleness. I connected quickly with her and felt wrapped up in her while living out the story.

I adored Walker's protectiveness, strength, wisdom, respect, understanding, compassion. He almost seemed too good to be true at times, but that's what made him all the better! And his always holding Gilly's face in his hands - loved that intimacy.

I always enjoy a book where most of the drama comes from outside sources and once the couple get together (the earlier the better, imo) on the same page, it's them against the world. Yeah they may need to learn each other and have little road bumps, but the bigger drama that moves the story is from outside the couple, and that's what's given to us here.

I was also tickled that for once, I was right in guessing who the bad-guy was and loved watching how my sleuthing was proven correct! lol

Saturday, April 11, 2020

Avenged by Kaylea Cross

Avenged
Avenged was unbelievably amazing!!

I loved Nathan and Taya! Both individually and together as a couple - from their history to where they're at presently in the story is a crazy beautiful and heartbreaking journey. The bond Nathan and Taya had naturally, how their relationship came full circle, how they both gave what the other needed so preciously and willingly, how there wasn't a "magic cure" with their struggles at the end but still growth and healing in their futures, but now doing that together instead of apart.... I stinkin' loved it all!!

Taya had a sense of grace and emotional maturity that served her well as well as bravery in being vulnerable - and all that flowed right over to Nate. Nate had a deeper drive and need in him that kept him going and gave him the foundation to build on to take that grace and love from Taya. He was a protector and that gave Taya the safe spot she needed to land.

There were some things in that I could translate into my personal life and it hit something deep in a good way. I love it when stories touch me that way - such blessing in those connections and nuggets of goodness.

I also gotta mention that Kaylea Cross does such a terrific job giving the villain a sense of humanity. Although they're still the villain and need their comeuppance, you have a unique set of feelings for them. Lol

I'm so glad I got back to the HRT series and I'm looking forward to enjoying the rest of the series!
 

Wednesday, April 8, 2020

Where the Lost Wander by Amy Harmon

Where the Lost Wander
I love Oregon Trail stories, and this is a terrific addition to the ones I've read and enjoyed. There's depth and emotions and reality mixed in with a love story.

I kinda struggled some with the rhythm/telling of the story - like it took me longer to settle into their point of views and connect to the characters. But the overall story itself was good, and knowing it was based on family history made up for that little struggle I had. And then when I finally got hooked, I was in!

This was my first Amy Harmon book, and I'd be interested in checking out her other stories.

Thursday, April 2, 2020

SEALED with a Kiss by Caitlyn O'Leary

SEALED with a Kiss
Adorable and charming novella, we get to catch up with all the team mates on the Midnight Delta team and see adorable Billy start growing up and developing into the man he's going to become. Loved it!


Wednesday, April 1, 2020

Innocent Minds by C.A. Asbrey

Innocent Minds
I'm going to preface this with a warning: I'm an empathetic reader. And when I find myself connected to a story and invested in characters as I have with Abi, Nat, and Jake, I have a challenge on my hands to process all my emotions I feel with the story along with all the characters' emotions.

So when I tell you I had to (ahem) gently and purposely put my kindle down and walk away from this story for a bit, you know something dug deep. It's a mark of a skilled author to not only deliver those responses, but make it so as soon as I sorted through the myriad of emotions, I was ready and even a bit anxious (both with anticipation and trepidation) to see what happened next.

That being said, with this 5th installment of The Innocents series, we're treated to a journey of restoring family and healing which soothed some hurts, along with a new mystery that not only gave me ghostbumps several times, but threw some curve balls that I never picked up on. There's also another twist in here that once you get over the shock of it, it actually makes the story all the better. But you really gotta take a breather there too and logic it out, if you're like me.

Innocent Minds delivers a story filled with passion, vengeance, and healing. The mystery feels a bit low-key compared to the other stories, but I believe that's due to the depth of the emotional journey the characters face at this time in their lives and how it all fits together. The whodonit is still just as twisted and intricate as I've come to expect.

As always, when I come to the end of a new Innocents book, the anticipation for the next book is strong! One more to go, and I know the journey will be worth it all.


Monday, March 30, 2020

Her Adoring SEAL by Caitlyn O'Leary

Her Adoring SEAL
This book wrapped itself around my heart with all the feels!

I adored how Jack immediately took to Beth, how he recognized what she needed and gave that unselfishly. How he showed her exactly what she meant to him and how he was going to stay in her life, and how she deserved to grasp hold of her dreams.

I loved Beth's heart, her vulnerability, her compassion, her frailness, and how out of all that, within the safe spot Jack gave her, she found her strength and built herself back up into the woman she was meant to be.

There's the more emotional but calm (read less action) moments, even though heartbreaking, but then the action builds back up with surprises and awesome moves. I'm loving my time in the Midnight Delta world and can't wait to get to the next story!

Sunday, March 22, 2020

Charlotte by Angela Rush

Charlotte
I loved it! ....and I didn't.

All the pieces were there to make this story be one of those special favorite reads for me: older characters, the instant connection/attraction, the jungle rescue, the uber protective alpha hero, the strong and vulnerable heroine, them-together-against-the-world vibe, the suspense plot line, the heroine who suffers from bad dreams/nightmares (something I can identify with strongly), the steamy times, the sweet kid (his), a brotherhood who has your back, nice/loving parents (why do so many parents have to be evil???). So much good!

But, there was still something missing or something that just didn't settle right with me with this story. Some of Hawk's actions I wish he chose differently (one of the shower scenes for example) or comments he made that I know were probably intended to be swoony-hot but to me lessened the attraction (ahem, think it don't say it, you're smarter than that). Charlotte's kids and friends gave me a bad taste (which, again, the intent for their characters was good, but how it was expressed didn't jive well for me). The drama of the suspense story line at the end felt a bit lackluster (I felt more of the terror in the jungle then the terror at the end, and I should have most definitely felt it at the end). I never really connected to Charlotte and found myself in her shoes (which while they did literally stink a good part of the story, I *wanted* to be in her shoes).

Technically, the flow of the story felt off sometimes, more like it was being told AT me, instead of me connecting to the characters and being a part of the story. I'm also all about giving grace for typos/mistakes in a story (they're always managing to sneak in there, it's genuinely okay), unfortunately, there was enough in this that it stood out in not the best of ways.

So really - it's a great story checking off so many of the romantic suspense puzzle pieces I enjoy, and I'm glad I kept pushing through to the end. But the connection I crave, the "something" that makes me want to remember the story and revisit it was lacking.

Wednesday, March 18, 2020

The Wrong/Right Man by Aurora Rose Reynolds

53030182. sx318 sy475


I loved the sounds of the book from the blurb. But digging into the story, I began to feel rather uncomfortable. Their whole relationship wasn't settling right for me. Actions speak louder than words. And the actions from both leads were scary.

This review actually does a good job detailing out alot of what I figured out made me uncomfortable.
https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...

That being said, I did finish reading the book. There were moments I enjoyed and had the atmosphere been different, probably would have loved. I even thought somewhere around 75/80% that the story would redeem itself for me finally, but that hope didn't last long.

So.... That's all I got. I wished it had taken a different path after the initial meeting, but it didn't and.... Yup.

Saturday, March 14, 2020

Her Tempting Protector by Caitlyn O'Leary


51061658. sy475

Talk about being blown away by a story!  This story blasted its way to crowd in at the top of my favorite COL books, which now proudly has 3 in first place. 

Her Tempting Protector delivers not only a crazy fun rescue adventure (I mean, fun as in lots of someones are out to kill us kinda fun) entwined with a slowly seductive love story, but it also sheds light on the heartbreaking atrocities that so many live with every day - from both the victims' and the caregivers' perspectives.  This book makes you pause and think while you anxiously flip the pages to see what happens next.

There's just something about the quiet but strong (and cocky in a good way) confidence a man emanates when he's secure in who he is, what he wants, and what needs done to both protect and secure that.  Cullen knows what his job is and he relishes in doing it - whether it's being a protective big brother, a rock-solid teammate, or the shield and safety for his woman - he takes charge and gives his all.  Cullen is the perfect mix of hilarious, sweet, and bossy alpha hero I've come to treasure. 

I loved getting to see Carys (from Her Steadfast Hero) make her appearance as Cullen's woman.  Her history combined with who she was as a woman - strength mixed with vulnerability, secure confidence weaved with heartbreaking insecurities, her loving empathetic heart supported by a steel backbone - created a gorgeous woman from the inside out.  I saw myself in her as much as I hoped I had my own version of strength she had. 

Cullen and Carys were the ideal match for each other.  She was someone he could protect and take care of, to give the dream of family and love to, while he gave her the safe place and someone to depend on when she needed it, and the someone to have her back as she chased her dreams.  They were the perfect mix, neither overpowering the other.  I loved how they complimented each other and both drew strength and gave strength from their love.

I adored every moment from the first page to the last, experiencing all the danger and the excitement layered with beauty, heartbreak, and triumphs.  Stories like this give the perfect kind of escape for me. It touched my heart in a way that I know I'll remember moments clearly and enjoy revisiting often. 

Monday, March 9, 2020

Her Sanctuary by Tracy Garrett

Her Sanctuary
We all know that saying about what assumptions do. I even recently read a book that was about assumptions and the problems they cause. Did I listen to the lessons learned? Nope - which is why I took too long to go back River's Bend and read the last story (which btw... I'd love to see more stories from River's Bend, Ms. Tracy Garrett!! Ya know, if you're taking requests, lol). I wasn't sure how a preacher would be portrayed as the hero in the story, and that made me pause and assume things. And left me pleasantly satisfied by the end.

I also don't know what the deal is lately, but it seems like I can't get away from death and heavy grief lately (whether in stories or real life). And while I read the blurb before starting this book, for some reason, it didn't click for me what was going to happen till I was already invested in the story, so off I went on another journey through grief and loss with Maggie.

I loved how Maggie had the inner strength that pushed through every hurt and trial set before her. I love how she struggled a bit, but knew deep down her worth. I could identify so well with her and felt her hurt and struggles and desires.

I loved how Kris wasn't the typical preacher character you see in western stories. He had a strength and a presence about him that complimented the strength he drew from God. He also was wise enough to quickly see his mistakes (aka his own assumptions) and rectify them. Loved how he was able to see Maggie for who she really was and pursued her, breaking down both her and his own defenses to give each other the home that they desperately needed.

This story touched on some sensitive topics - loss of loved one, prejudice, forgiveness, compassion. All were handled with care.

I also enjoyed catching up with the other couples of River's Bend - made me want to go back and revisit them again.

If you're looking for a story that'll make you feel and think, but yet deliver a precious and heartwarming love story, this is one to pick up, along with all the other River's Bend stories (as I believe this is technically the last one in the series).
 

Saturday, March 7, 2020

Hidden Trails by Cheryl Pierson

Hidden Trails
Hidden Trails is a charmingly sweet and adventure-filled western story that gives you something to think about while you enjoy the tale.

I loved Levi's stubbornness, his determination to do the right thing, and his natural protective instincts that take center stage once he encounters Val.

I loved Valentine's strength, her tenacity, and her confidence in herself and her worth. She wasn't going to back down from a fight, nor was she going to allow herself to be trod upon.

If you're looking for a winter themed western that packs a punch and still gives you sweet, this is a story to enjoy.


Friday, March 6, 2020

The SEAL's Promise by Grace Alexander

The SEAL's Promise
Winter's Heat is one of my most favorite books ever, so when I found out there was a "sweeter" version available, I was excited to discover the nuances between the stories. Drake and Tessa's story delivered all the action and anticipation expected and the unique additions/changes made this particular version just that much better.

I loved how Drake and Tessa connected and felt that something-special-spark between them, but yet, had something else holding them back that they had to fight through to claim their happy ever after. And boy, did they have a journey to fight through to get to their goodness. Honor, protectiveness, defending, and healing, they all have their place in this story.

The whole world around the Safehouse Security team and going from rural to urban America, to South America and back again bloomed to life around me as I found myself lost in the story. I loved how Drake and Tessa interacted and fell for each other. I adored the protective instincts that flared to life in Drake and the way Tessa came to life around him. Tessa definitely could hold her own though, and was a fighter from the beginning.


The scruff on his face was a scant thicker than usual, though he liked to keep a menacing shadow. Men backed off, and danger-junkie women gravitated toward him. Win-win.

You just think of me as all brawn, saving that cute butt of yours from thugs.

Their bodies were the right mix of spark and C4. Together, there was the potential for explosions.

Violence had never had this effect on him before. But protecting her, isolating her from dangerous men, made him feel savagely possessive.

"I'm safe. You… Took care of them, just like you said."


And can I just say - that cover is all sorts of yummy hotness! :)

The Carpino Series Collection, Books 1-3 by Brynne Asher

The Carpino Series Collection, Books 1-3
I'm a rebel. I'll read a book series out of order if a later book calls to me, and in this case, Athica Lane wouldn't let my attention go!

I love finding books that make my heart happy - and Paige and Cam's HEA overflows my heart with all the feel-goods! Give me a alpha male who's got some rough edges but makes up for it in the best of ways, and a charming, girly, sassy, sweet heroine who's his perfect match, who's both soft and strong, and I will melt and swoon through the whole story!

I adored the extra little bonus scene showing life a few years later and just how good Paige and Cam still are together.

Review update 3/6/20 - read Overflow

Jude and Gabby's story touched so many pieces of my heart and left it overflowing with satisfaction.

I loved how Jude and Gabby met and how even without both of them getting the true significance of it, from that first moment in each other's presence, that was it for the both of them. I loved the family connections/drama and how family matters - and not all family is blood. I loved experiencing Gabby's insecurities and working through her grief with her. I loved the moments of peace and easy mixed in with havoc and tension. I loved how everything fell together and they worked through the hurt and their pasts. I adored how Jude treated Gabby and refused to lose her to anything.

She’s only been mine for five days and that’s exactly what she is as of right now. Mine.

So, quit asking me if I’m gonna come to you at the end of the day, because as long as this is good, I plan on coming to you.

Baby, watch out. You prance your sweet ass out here in that little thing, I’m comin’ after you.

“Who’s that?” I whisper. “That’s my dad. Come on, I’ll introduce you. Trust me, he’s not nearly as overwhelming as your family.”


Mixing up a great blend of laughter and love, family and friends, sweet and steamy, Overflow is a beautiful love story that'll settle into your heart.

Bonus scene: That letter from Jude was just perfection! So much heart and emotions all wrapped up in a gorgeous letter that catches us up to where they are now. I melted and fell in love with Jude all over again!


Overflow by Brynne Asher

Overflow
Jude and Gabby's story touched so many pieces of my heart and left it overflowing with satisfaction.

I loved how Jude and Gabby met and how even without both of them getting the true significance of it, from that first moment in each other's presence, that was it for the both of them. I loved the family connections/drama and how family matters - and not all family is blood. I loved experiencing Gabby's insecurities and working through her grief with her. I loved the moments of peace and easy mixed in with havoc and tension. I loved how everything fell together and they worked through the hurt and their pasts. I adored how Jude treated Gabby and refused to lose her to anything.

She’s only been mine for five days and that’s exactly what she is as of right now. Mine.

So, quit asking me if I’m gonna come to you at the end of the day, because as long as this is good, I plan on coming to you.

Baby, watch out. You prance your sweet ass out here in that little thing, I’m comin’ after you.

“Who’s that?” I whisper. “That’s my dad. Come on, I’ll introduce you. Trust me, he’s not nearly as overwhelming as your family.”


Mixing up a great blend of laughter and love, family and friends, sweet and steamy, Overflow is a beautiful love story that'll settle into your heart.

Assumption by Aurora Rose Reynolds

Assumption
I loved the set up of how Autumn and Kenton got together.

I adored how Kenton reacted to Autumn when he figured out his assumption about her was incorrect.

I loved how Autumn stood up for herself, even if some of her crazy reactions were a bit crazy for me. lol

I loved watching the slow-burn-ish way these two finally got on the same page and got together for real.

I adored with a passion the way Kenton went all out to protect Autumn and keep her safe.

Perfect amount of laughter, steam, drama, and intensity balanced throughout the story.

Sunday, March 1, 2020

Take Me To Bed: Bedtime Quickies anthology

Take Me To Bed: Bedtime Quickies Collection Freya Barker's story made me fall in love with the characters and made me want to go back and read the beginning of their story. I'm gonna have to take time to dig into more of her stories. I had to reread this one a few times already.

Anna Bishop Barker's story was the sweetest and hottest hookup that actually worked for me. Definitely a winner!

Aurora Rose Reynold's Until James was an emotional and heartwarming catch up with July and Wes. Loved the little addition to their story we got.

Thursday, February 27, 2020

Her Ruthless Protector by Caitlyn O'Leary

Her Ruthless Protector
Written filled with adventure, drama, and cute flirty fun, Her Ruthless Protector is sure to satisfy!

I loved the way Kane and AJ connected and interacted, and seeing AJ through Kane's eyes - that was a powerful thing to experience and let sink into me. I loved seeing how they could each hold their own, but yet, were amazing partners, both in the bedroom and out. AJ complimented Kane well with her backbone, her smarts, and her heart.

Seeing this is a military story as much as a romance story, bullets fly and bad guys abound everywhere, giving just the right amount of suspense and anxiety. Dealing with the enemy and the powers-that-be, and choosing what is right over what is ordered, and showing what having your brother's back truly mean, the military story line packs a punch.

Mix together the twist and turns, tear-filled moments, steamy moments, and laughter-ringing times and you've got another awesome Caitlyn O'Leary story to escape into.


Saturday, February 8, 2020

Following Faith by Jacqui Nelson

Following Faith

This was the first story I'd read by Jacqui Nelson which put her on my watch-out-for-and-read-her-stuff list. haha!

Despite the short length, this story packed a big punch. The way it flowed and the words used drew me in and captured my attention fully. Loved getting to see Faith find her happily ever after with Eagle.



*This was originally in an anthology I read in 2017, and I love that it's a stand-alone now and has it's own gorgeous cover!!


Friday, February 7, 2020

Breaking Point by Pamela Clare

Breaking Point
Wow, it's been 7 years since I've last visited this book and the distance just made revisiting the audio version feel like the best mix of reconnecting with a treasured friend and experiencing all the thrills of a new story. I still totally adore Zach and Natalie, and can respect their histories and struggles a bit better/differently. The way Natalie cared for Zach and pushed him to get out of the darkness he was trapped in (which also helped her some) was beautiful. And I adored Zach's protectiveness and way he took care of Natalie from the moment they met. Then add in getting to see alot of Marc (my tied as top fav iteam hero) and the rest of the crew and the fun they bring to the table, and this book still reigns as a treasure!

+++++++
2013 review
Pamela Clare is one of my top favorite authors! Every story she creates she sucks me in and holds me tight! I don't think she could possibly write a book I didn't love!!

Zach and Natalie's story is one of my favorites in this whole series. The trials and journey these two went through to find each other and keep each other is amazing and hard and beautiful!

So many other reviews detail the story better - but I just had to share my love for Pamela's story!!!